Forgotten Buffalo: Historic & Hip...An Urban Explorer's Guide to the Buffalo-Niagara Region: Unique Landmarks, Historic Gin Mills, Old World Neighborhoods, History, Nickel City Oddities, Tours and More!
Witamy na internetowej stronie Parafi Swietego Stanislawa Biskupa I Meczennika. Autorem strony jest jej parafianin Martin Biniasz. Parafia jest zlokalizowana we wschodniej czesci Buffalo, New York, jest ona centrum Polsko - Amerykanskiej spolecznosci od 1873 roku. Prosze poswiecic chwile czasu aby poznac barwna przeszlosc parafii oraz zobaczyc jej obecne zycie. Niezaleznie czy jestes parafianinem czy gosciem – Witamy
Welcome to the UNOFFICIAL Saint Stanislaus B & M Parish website. This is a VOLUNTEER effort by St. Stan's Parishioner MARTIN BINIASZ. Located on the Eastside of Buffalo, New York, St. Stans has been the center of the region's Polish-American community since 1873. Please take a moment to learn about the parish's colorful past and experience today’s vibrant parish life. Whether you are a current parishioner, visitor or "coming home" to St. Stan’s, Witamy!
THE MOTHER CHURCH OF POLONIA...
St. Stanislaus is the oldest Polish parish in the diocese of Buffalo, and maybe the oldest in New YorkState (St. Stanislaus in NYC also founded the same year). The first pastor and founder was Rev. Jan Pitass, a Silesian who was the "irremovable pastor" for 39 years. Pitass, the pioneer priest, is also considered the founder of the Polish American community in Western New York. A national known figure, he built an enormous empire for the Poles on the east side of Buffalo. He established a parish school and brought the Felician sisters to Buffalo in 1882, he founded a parish cemetery in 1889, co founded a national fraternal organization, Unia Polska w Ameryce and was responsible for the first Polish Catholic Convention in America.
The magnificent cathedral type church that Jan Pitass built in 1882 stands as a lasting memory to his ability. He was an advisor to Bishop Ryan on Polish affairs and was granted the title of "Dean". In 1904, this parish was among the largest in the U.S. with close to 20,000 parishioners. Two-thousand children were enrolled in the school.
Upon his death in 1913, his nephew, Dr. Aleksander Pitass took over the reigns and guided the parish for the next 40 years, a period marked by two world wars and the beginning of the exodus of Poles to the suburbs.
Dr. Pitass like his uncle commanded great respect and the parish was in the limelight of all Polish affairs. The Rev. Piotr Adamski followed as next pastor with the death of Dr. Pitass in 1944. Adamski's term as pastor brought the parish into its centennial year, just three pastors in 100 years! He made parish improvements and was responsible for the establishment of boy's and girl's catholic high schools, expansion and development of the parish cemetery, and the building of a social center.
During his pastorate many Polish refugees arrived after the war but even with the new blood, the neighborhood's ethnic population was changing. After the celebration of the centennial, Adamski retired and the Rev. Chester Meloch was assigned as pastor. Msgr Meloch resigned the pastorate and the Rev. Msgr John Gabalski was appointed. The beloved Gabalski lead the parish until his death in 2003. In November of 2003 Bishop Edward M. Grosz was named only the 6th pastor of the historic parish.
Under Bishop Grosz's leadership, St. Stanislaus has begun an aggressive series of capital improvements to stabilize and restore the parish campus.